Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dear Donald,

Your address to Congress today was a bit of a different tone than I am used to hearing from you. I have to admit I’m a little wary. I want to be hopeful that maybe you are waking up to the reality that your brash tactics are not going over well with the country as a whole, but I’m honestly a bit skeptical.

Even if it is just lip service answering to the cries of the country, I have to say I was very happy to hear you expressed distaste at the anti-Semitic hate crimes that have been occurring of late. I think that was a very much needed expression of disapproval coming from you. I’m hoping that those words really hit home with the terrible perpetrators of those hateful and evil acts.

So many many things were touched on in your address, from job creations, budget, healthcare, taxes, education, crime and so much more. I really feel like I’ll still be processing everything slowly in the days to come. The way you talked about everything today seemed more calculated and script like that I really want some time to review everything and double check on the data and facts before I can feel truly settled in how I feel.

One thing that caught my attention was when you mentioned that countries like Canada and Australia have merit-based immigration systems in a way that seemed like you would ideally like to adopt as similar system. I hope that with the implementation of such systems that there would also be clearer outlined pathways to citizenship for the immigrants that are currently here. The current hardworking immigrants that have been working so hard to create a better future for their families.

According to the study that you referenced done last year by the National Academy of Sciences it found that “the impact of immigration on the wages of native-born workers overall is very small.”  Not only that, while it did find that first-generation immigrants are more costly to state and local government, it found that the children of immigrants, on the other hand, are among the “strongest economic and fiscal contributors in the U.S. population, contributing more in taxes than either their parents or the rest of the native-born population.”. I think that if you found a way to implement a pathway to citizenship for those immigrants that are making a positive impact for our economy, that it would be a huge step in a positive direction for our future as a united, inclusive and successful country moving forward.

Sincerely,
A Solicitous Citizen

