Tags

, , , ,

Dear Donald,

Before I sat down to write to you today, I thought I might have a little writers block on what to write to you about. Then as I remembered why I chose simple informal letter correspondence as my method of talking to you.

I cannot be anyone other than myself. I am not an expert in political or social matters. I have never been exceptional in anything scholarly. I am just a normal, average, every day, run of the mill person. I work an 8-5 job Monday through Friday, and make a modest salary of about 45K a year. Regardless, even as an commonplace US citizen, I have opinions and concerns. I may not express myself in an extremely refined manner, but I think I try to get my points across as clearly and precisely as possible.

I also thought that might actually appreciate my casual letters, seeing as how you don’t seem to try and portray yourself as a very polished sort of fellow either. You quite often used Twitter to address the world and quite often use it to comment on the things happening in it. So by keeping things on a casual level I can find the words to express myself much easier than trying to sound like someone I’m not.

So as I sit here as a normal person, finding some relaxation this Friday evening, I thought about how you might be feeling lately. Aren’t you exhausted? I thought about how you might possibly be feeling like someone you aren’t right now.

I read a lot of articles about you today, but the one that really stuck with me is how people are claiming that you didn’t fully comprehend what being President would actually entail. I instantly wanted to just roll my eyes and say REALLY DONALD??, but then I took a moment of pause and tried to see things from your point of view.

Maybe you thought it would just be like running another one of your business ventures. You deciding how you want things to go, maybe not fully understanding what it takes to make that vision a reality, but relying on the people around you to just get it done. Perhaps you thought the job would be cool, that  most of the people around you would take on the majority of the burden, and then you would just be free to have a grand time holding the awesome title of President of the United States of America.

I know it’s so easy to see other people doing things in life and to find yourself thinking about how you would do things so much better if you were in their position, but the truth of the matter is that, we can never really fully know what things are like until  we can see, do, and experience the things for ourselves.

Donald, now that you are where you are, and you are seeing what it really means to run this country and be the President, do you think you’re really up for this?  I have to say Donald, if you had a real honest moment with yourself and decided that this job was more than you thought it would be and decided to step down, I’d have to give you some serious props for being a bigger person than I give you credit for.

I really hope you’ll take the time to really see what you have taken on here with this position. I hope you can look past your own pride and reputation and try to do what is best for this country, and not just for you.

Sincerely,
A Solicitous Citizen

